Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m getting a whole new appreciation for graphic designers today! I’ve always admired graphic designers for their artistic skill; they can do things on a computer that I can’t even dream about. In the past year and a half, my Photoshop skills have probably multiplied by a factor of about 14,000 and I’m still a rookie compared to the few designers I know.

However, one of the many many challenges (and joys) of starting a new business is forcing yourself to learn new skills because budget constraints don’t allow you to outsource it. Have I ever done this before? Nope. Do I know what I’m doing? Not really! So I need some help. I’m using this blog entry as a forum to hopefully generate some discussion about the options I’ve created for myself. Please PLEASE weigh in with comments and/or constructive (!) criticism. What do you like? What do you dislike? Does the cream work with the green? Can you suggest a better complementary colour?

Image

This one was a front-runner for favourite, except that I’m not sold on the sizing of ‘photography’ or the lack of a logo.

Image

Yikes! Okay, I was just testing it out… Too busy.

Image

My first attempt at incorporating my M into a logo. Do the vines in front of it make it look too obscured?

Image

Essentially the same as the first attempt. I flipped the vector over to see if it made any difference to have the swirls moving away from the business name. Does it draw the eye down the page too early?

Image

I really like this vector because it is swirly without being leafy, so matches the bold font better. But there’s no room for a logo. Do I need a logo?

Image

Oblong. Does it look like it’s running off the page? Too disjointed? Does the fact that I’m even asking these questions suggest that I’m already cancelling this as an option? : P

Image

Final 2 options are the same except for M’s opacity and colour. Think these two are the winners… Now just need to pick one of them.

Image

