Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The first time I spoke to Lisa, I was standing in a winery  in Prince Edward County feeling rather excited about trying out a particular sparkling wine. When the voice at the other end of the phone asked if I’d ever been to (a particular winery) and it turned out to be the one that I was standing in, I should’ve known that things were going to work well between us.

Lisa’s proposal for a maternity shoot was an interesting one: she and her husband wanted to be on the river. On a paddleboard. Right. I was immediately excited and nervous all at the same time. As it turns out, I should have left the nerves behind.

 

I showed up with my bathing suit and wetsuit ready to go, and got ready to drop myself – and hopefully NOT my brand-spanking-new camera – in the river. First, though, we did a bit of dry land practise to see if some of our poses were feasible if a) you’re pregnant (they were) and b) you’re on a paddleboard (we were willing to give it a shot). Within seconds of touching the surface of the water, we learned a rather crucial lesson: paddleboards are VERY rocky!

 

There were a lot of laughs during this session; the unsteadiness of the board (those people you’ve seen doing yoga on the board deserve awards!), a decent current, a new paddleboarder (oh, did I forget to mention that Lisa had never actually been paddleboarding before this session?), the imminent threat of being plunged into the rather frigid water – they all combined to make a rather entertaining (if incredibly unpredictable) session that produced rewards equal to the risks that these two were willing to take with me that day.

While we ended up opting to leave the yoga-on-the-board poses out, these two managed to pack a lot into an hour and a half and I left feeling incredibly excited about what took place. Lisa is due in a few short weeks and I’m already looking forward to the fun we’re going to have with their new addition. 🙂

