Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As my business has grown, I’ve started receiving requests to photograph medium and large family groups – including my own 29-strong clan. These projects have, on two occasions, included requests to add missing family members into the photos after the fact. An interesting challenge for a self-taught Photoshop user, to say the least, but one that I enjoyed.

One of the fun parts about being hired for these large groups (apart from trying to remember all of the names) is being able to work in one setting with family subgroups, which gives me more of a chance to chat while I work rather than simply call out instructions and position changes.

The Groulx family was particularly interesting because the request was that they spend time not doing posed photos. When I arrived, they had balloons strewn all over the floor for their daughter’s birthday (although I think their granddaughter had the most fun with them) and these created a fun focal point for a large portion of the session.

The Grants had family members in Toronto who couldn’t be there, so I added my cousins and brother in after the fact (and got paid in port and acupuncture – score!), while one of the Main family was called away to work the morning of their Thanksgiving Sunday session.

The Mains were a real hoot – the right blend of casual and formal, and a great-grandfather who wears tartan blazers like a pro. The kids and I had a great time leaping around the verandah (granted, they did the leaping while I howled with laughter) and we did just about every different combination of family group possible with this beautiful growing family spanning four generations. When looking at the their photos, look carefully and you may spot three of my clients, including the ever-lovely Julie and her daughter (sorry, Ian – you’re lovely too), from previous blog posts.

Enjoy this slideshow of shots from sessions with the Main, Groulx, and Grant families.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

